Latest Updates

Baby Number Four

“Do my boobs look bigger to you?” My husband glanced over from his video game and shrugged. “Seriously,” I said, “Look at these things. They’re like, at least a B cup. Look!”

Hubby paused his game and made a thorough examination. “Yep, they’re bigger. Your face looks a little chubby, too.” He laughed.

“Gee, thanks. Punk.” I swatted him away and went about getting dressed.

Having been pregnant three times, I knew exactly why my appearance was changing. I ran to the nearest store, bought a pregnancy test, and flew back home as fast as I could. My husband and I eagerly anticipated the results, but… I couldn’t go! No matter how long I squatted there, I could not produce one single drop of the golden stuff. I ran the sink, hoping the sound of running water would trigger something – not a drip.

“What’s the matter?”

“I don’t know. I can’t pee. Grab me something to drink, will ya?” Without a word, he raced to the kitchen. I could hear cabinets opening and the sound of plastic tumbling as he frantically searched for a cup.

“They’re in the dishwasher!” I called.

“Oh,” I heard him mutter, “Thank you!”

I sighed. My bottom was starting to get sore from sitting on the toilet for so long. There was also a curious knot in my gut… four kids. It felt so daunting. But, I knew, no matter what, we could take on anything that came our way. Bolstered by this thought, I smiled up at my doting spouse as he returned with my beverage.

“Here ya go,” he said, breathlessly. He handed me a wet glass filled with iced sweet tea – my favorite.

“Thank you,” I replied, taking the glass and guzzling it down. A few moments later a few tinkles began to emerge, and I hurriedly grabbed for the thin, white stick. As soon as I was finished, I replaced the cap and sat the test on the vanity to wash my hands.

“Well, now we wait,” said my husband, biting his nails.

“Yep, we wait. Even if it’s positive… we need to wait to tell anyone.”

“Okay, why?”

“Four kids? Do you know how much crap we’re gonna get for having another baby?”

“Who cares? It’s our family. Screw ’em.”

“I know, I know. I just don’t want to deal with it.”

“Okay, we’ll wait until you’re ready. But, it’s not like we’re going to be able to hide it forever. The sooner we get it over with, the better.”

“Hmmm, you might be right. I don’t know. I’ll think about it. Today, it’s just us. And it might not even be positive, so we’re really getting ahead of ourselves here.”

“I know…”

“‘I know’, but…?”

“Well, I mean, do you want another baby?”

“You already know the answer to that. If we could afford it, I’d have as many babies as I can physically manage.”

“Good, because it’s positive.”

“Wait… what?!”

“Yep. Look,” he said, snatching the test from the countertop and flashing it in my face.

He was right. Two bright blue lines stared back at me. “Holy Mother! We’re pregnant…”

“I guess we are. Don’t worry. We’ll be fine. And I won’t say anything until you tell me to, but… can I tell my mom?”

“Of course you can tell her. She’ll be thrilled. Just make sure it doesn’t get back to my side, okay?”

“Aye, aye, Captain. Love you.”

“Love you, too.” He blew me a kiss and started scrolling through his phone. I smiled, knowing how much joy being a father brought him. He was a great dad, too. I really am lucky, and I can’t wait to meet the newest member of our family and teach them all about life, love, and laughter.


Written for pensitivity’s #ThreeThingsChallenge #327 – chubby, pregnant, go

7 thoughts on “Baby Number Four

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.