Latest Updates

A Sense of Adventure

Pine-sol scented floors shine up at me.

No dishes in the sink; the house is clean – to a degree.

I know it won’t stay that way,

But, my job is done for today.

As I meander throughout the house,

Making sure all is well,

Checking on my kids and spouse,

My mind goes on a carousel.

Spinning ‘round and ‘round,

I’m eclipsed by the dust.

There’s a metaphorical cloud,

Guiding my wanderlust.

An urgency for adventure, 

to explore a land unclaimed

Away from the mundane,

Where I’m not the great pretender;

An impossible terrain.

I’m lucky and blessed to live the life I do.

I wouldn’t trade it for a thing,

But it’d be nice if, for a week or two,

I could indulge my inner whims.

I’m a Mom, it’s what I do,

But that doesn’t mean I’m finished.


Written for Fandango’s One Word Challenge prompt – ‘Wanderlust

4 thoughts on “A Sense of Adventure

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.